Gem classification

The Gemmological Institute of America classifies coloured gemstones into 3 types. Spinel is a Type 2 gem, which means they usually have inclusions but are ‘eye-clean.’

Our grading standards: 

AAA+                       Perfect quality

AAA                          Eye clean (no inclusions visible to the naked eye)

AA                             Very small inclusions

A                                Moderate inclusions

B                                Severe inclusions